Tags

,

Okay, so a few weeks ago I posted a photo of lamp shade I wanted to copy cat for my living room. The blogger had used a Sharpie marker to write a poem she loved onto a lamp shade. Seems simple enough and pretty cool given my obsession with words. But what to write?

Well, last week my new More magazine arrived (yep, I am officially a woman of style & substance and proud of it) and the entire issue is dedicated to risk taking and motivation. They had a page of great quotes. I immediately went upstairs to find my Sharpies. Ironically, I have spent a lot of time worrying about whether or not this project was too weird. But with “risk taking” as my theme, it was hard to back down.

I didn’t want just black marker though, as I don’t have a lot of it in my home. So I used my metallics, silver, gold, and copper. And it turns out my handwriting is considerably smaller than hers. Either that or my lamp shade considerably larger. So I had to go searching for more quotes in keeping with my theme. Easy handled as one of my all-time favorite websites is The Quote Garden. I put “risk” into the search box and voilà!

Let me know your thoughts. I like it, damn what others might say. I especially like that it doesn’t scream, “She has covered me with words written with a Sharpie!” It just sort of whispers it from the corner of my living room…

For the record, I think my favorite quote on this project is by Frederick Wilcox: “Progress always involves risk; you can’t steal second base and keep your foot on first base.”

RIsky Lamp Shade Close UpRisky Lamp Shade

